Vermont New Years Eve – Part Two

Back at The Schoolhouse we spent the early evening playing Forty Fives.

IMG_0371

Forty Fives is a card game that originated in Northeastern Massachusetts (where I grew up and my family lives). The random/funny thing is, I actually originally learned how to play a version of this game during my semester abroad in Australia! I love this game because it is 50% luck and 50% strategy/skill – it definitely keeps you on your toes.

Once our game finished (Ben won!) we poured drinks and got to work preparing our feast.

862794

NYE The Schoolhouse

854762

Part of the charm of The Schoolhouse is that is has been kept true to its original form. With the kitchen lacking an oven and no conventional cooktop, the boys bundled up for some winter grilling.

706890

721226

^vermont headlamp fashion

NYE The Schoolhouse1

^my contribution to the meal: cranberry chutney to garnish the pork

We gathered to break bread just before midnight.

993290

1001194

I love the fact that while most of my friends were partying it up in the city, paying for over-priced drinks and traipsing around in the cold, we were sitting down to a cozy homemade meal. Chill, low key, and totally my style :)

 It was only our second year New Years-ing at The Schoolhouse, but I hope it becomes a place to gather and a tradition for years to come.

…and, because I have more fun photos to share, stay tuned for part three.

[click for part one]

About Gillian

I blog at The Greener Bean: thegreenerbean.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in New Years and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vermont New Years Eve – Part Two

  1. Pingback: Vermont New Years Eve – Part One | The Greener Bean

  2. Carole says:

    It looks like a wonderful night that you all had. Those are the perfect kinds of New Year’s Eves!

Leave a Reply

