What I Ate Wednesday – my first!

In a different lifetime, I imagine I would be one of those healthy food bloggers who documents everything they eat. I love food. I love taking photos of food. I love getting healthy. I have a Type-A personality. It just makes sense!

Sadly, my life as it currently stands is a tad too hectic for such an endeavor. I often work 10-12 hours a day. My meals are almost always on the go. Most weeks, I am lucky if I find the time to do laundry.

Enter: What I Ate Wednesday

  WIAW is a weekly event, hosted by Peas and Crayons, in which bloggers link up to share a day in their life of eats! [read more here]

Once a week? Well that sounds sort of doable. Okay, you’ve got me – the perfect excuse to live out my daily food blogger fantasy dreams!

So yes, here is my first attempt at a What I Ate Wednesday (which is technically what I ate Tuesday). My apologies in advance for the blurry iPhone photos… like I said, I’m always on the go, and honestly, I’m a bit shy about taking food photos at the office! :)

BREAKFAST – 10am

photo (8)

Pumpkin Oats, made at home with just enough time to dish into a container to take to the office to eat at my desk. This combo includes: 1 cup water, 1/4 cup steel cut oats, 1/4 cup canned pumpkin, a dash of cinnamon, a dash of pumpkin pie spice and two teaspoons of light brown sugar. You may also notice that Iced Coffee sneaking around in the corner of the shot – enjoyed with a splash of soy and a sugar in the raw packet.

LUNCH – 2:30pm

photo (7)

I completely forgot about my 1:30 meeting and ended up having to push lunch back way too late! I was ravenous by the time 2:30 rolled around. This is the last of the Spiced Red Lentil, Tomato and Kale Soup (recipe from Oh She Glows) that I made last week, specifically to bring for lunches. This soup was delicious, but for some reason (tomatoes? onions?) it gave me acid reflux (which is a new thing for me). Sad.

With a slice of Wegman’s Ancient Grain Bread with Cranberries:

photo (6)

And one of these for a sweet finish:

photo (1)

SNACK – 7pm

Once again, I waited way too long to eat and was starving by the time I got home from work. I threw together some cucumber spears and Wegman’s Red Pepper Hummus (my favorite hummus!) to tide me over until dinner.

photo (4)

I also sipped on some GT’s Organic Raw Kombucha Gingerade. I do not like a lot of the kombucha flavors I have tried (they taste too vinegar-y, blech!) – but for some reason the gingerade is delicious to me. Tastes like fresh carbonated juice.

photo (5)

DINNER – 9pm

D & I made homemade pizza back on Sunday night, and I had extras of all of the toppings to use up! I picked up a Boboli Mini Crust to make things quick and easy. Topped with tomato sauce, chopped garlic, burrata cheese and fresh basil.

photo (3)

Sipped a lemon lime bubbly water on the side.

photo (2)

And snacked on a few more of those Maple French Toast French Twists as I watched Parenthood. Does anyone else tear up at every. single. episode?

photo

So there you have it. What I ate Wednesday (but actually, really Tuesday). I guess I’ve learned two things from this post:

1. I really need to stop waiting until I am dying of hunger to eat something.

2. I now get acid reflux (TMI?). I think this means I am getting old.

I hope you enjoyed this post – thank you for letting me indulge myself!

Question: Are you good about snacking throughout the day? Or do you wait until you are ravenous to realize that you are hungry?

About Gillian

I blog at The Greener Bean: thegreenerbean.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in What I Ate Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What I Ate Wednesday – my first!

  1. maryesell says:

    I eat oatmeal every. single. morning. and have never thought to add some additional flavor (other than brown sugar and milk) Thanks for the idea :)

  2. Carole says:

    That looks like a pretty healthy day of eating. The oatmeal sounds delicious and the pizza – with burrata – oh yummmmm!

  3. Kyra (Scribbles & Sprinkles) says:

    Welcome to WIAW! Pumpkin pie oats – yum!

  4. Welcome to What I ate Wednesday :) All of your meals, especially those pumpkin oats look great!

Leave a Reply

