What I Ate Wednesday – Green Smoothie :)

Hi there! Miss me? I’m alive, I promise. Work has gotten sort of crazy as we prep for our next show, but I thought I’d pop in here and say hello for a ‘lil What I Ate Wednesday.

Now, I don’t want this to turn into a WIAW-only blog, but I am glad that WIAW gives me an excuse to check in here at least once a week. This week, I’m going to take a spin on WIAW and show you not everything I ate in one day, but something I ate every day for an entire week. Ya with me?

After the holidays, I was feeling a bit down about my eating and work-out routine, or well, lack of routine. I have been using the new year as an excuse to get back on track, starting with a few baby steps. One of these baby steps? Green smoothies.

photo (11)

Typically I am all in a rush, a running late disaster, as I make my way to work in the mornings. It is so easy for me to grab a bagel or muffin at the coffee shop, or more often, just skip breakfast all together.

Fast forward to the past two weeks: I have been eating (drinking? dreating?) a green smoothie almost every morning. With just a bit of prep in the evenings, I’ve found that smoothies are an easy way to get my day started off on the right foot with an awesome punch of fruit and veggies. A bonus? I can take it on the go! That’s a big plus for a gal who is always rushing from one place to another.

Here is one my favorite combos I have been blending up:

Spinach Smoothie with Avocado and Apple
(recipe from Real Simple Magazine, Feb 2013)

1.5 cups apple juice
2 cups spinach or kale
1 apple (unpeeled, cored and chopped)
1/2 avocado chopped (I like to pre-freeze this so the smoothie is nice and chilled)

Combine in blender and puree until smooth.

The avocado makes the smoothie nice and creamy and I promise — once that spinach is all pureed, you don’t even remember it’s in there. I’ve occasionally added a pinch of cinnamon for a little extra flavor.

photo (12)

Here is one of my smoothies in the snow saying “take that, winter!” Greens shall prevail.

On another note: this weekend I was walking home from yoga and passed by a little girl exiting McDonald’s with a Shamrock Shake. Oh man, I am such a sucker for the Shamrock Shake (and minty desserts in general)! I was tempted to treat myself, but at 530 calories for a small, it is so not worth it.

My next goal? Figure out how to make my green smoothie taste like a shamrock shake… any ideas?

About Gillian

I blog at The Greener Bean: thegreenerbean.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in What I Ate Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I Ate Wednesday – Green Smoothie :)

  1. i know what you mean — i hate it when i have one or no posts between my “wiaw” posts, but it is still fun to check in and share that every week (or, the weeks that i do share).

    your shake sounds really interesting! but i cannot handle frozen smoothies when i’m freezing outside. it makes me miss summer even more.

  2. Carole says:

    I think those shamrock shakes are nasty! Hannah had one the other day and well, blech. I know I should drink a green smoothie but I’m a little put off by the color. Are you SURE it tastes good? LOL.

    • Gillian says:

      I promise! You don’t even taste the spinach, the other flavors take over :)

      Also — that is funny you say that about shamrock shake… I actually had one last year, and you are right, it was not as good as I remembered! Maybe the recipe has changed over the years… or maybe my palate has changed as I’ve gotten older :p

  3. daviddhaas22 says:

    Hi I’m David! Please email me when you get a chance, I have a question about your blog!
    David.D.Haas22{at}gmail{dot}com

  4. Pingback: Healthy Way To Cook What I Ate Wednesday roundup - posts from February 6

Leave a Reply

