Couch to 5K – Week 2 Repeat, Day 1

The week is flying by! Time to backtrack:

Sunday I had a lot of fun celebrating an engagement in Brooklyn. In my head I thought I’d be staying for an hour or two (followed by some food shopping) — fast forward 5 hours and 4 beers later, and I was a happy G, soakin up the Sunday afternoon sun in the BK.

4 beers over 5 hours? Less than one drink an hour, not too bad right? With only a piece of cake in your stomach? Bad news.

good idea at the time...

Needless to say, I was not a happy camper come Monday morning. My commitment to Couch to 5K took over, and I forced myself out the door to run. Not my finest moment… but my run happened! And it actually felt kind of good (or maybe I just wanted to get it over with as quickly as possible?)! An hour later it did not feel so good, and the only fix was a big bagel on the way to work to soak up all that beer that had been sloshing around in my stomach.

Since I had skipped my shopping trip Sunday night, most of my meals this week have been grab and go. I was excited today when I looked at my calendar and saw I had the evening free! Time to finally hit up the supermarket and try out this recipe which has been on my mind since it was posted last week by Oh She Glows.

extreme health, extreme delish

I love love love Kale, so this salad was right up my alley. It also gave me an excuse to finally use my nutritional yeast (in the dressing), which I purchased a few weeks back :

hello, you weird stranger

This recipe made A TON. I don’t have gogi berries or hemp seeds at my local grocery, so I left those out. I wish I had added a bit less dressing, but besides that, it’s delish! The nutritional yeast + tahini adds a nice nutty, almost cheesy flavor to salad and the raisins and other veggies outweigh the potential bitterness of the kale.

Also: It is filling! I couldn’t even finish my one bowl! Stuffed.

yumballs.

Weird thing. I just let out a kale salad burp! I am not a girl that burps (1. I don’t naturally burp often and 2. I think it’s gross!) but this one just popped out of my as if… I was drinkin beers on a Sunday afternoon. A kale salad that satisfies.

Time for a few spoonfuls of my favorite Breyer’s Mint Chocolate Chip (it was $3.00 off — I love a good deal!) and then it’s off to bed I go. Day 2 of Week 2 of Couch to 5K is on the schedule for tomorrow… excited to finally be making some progress.

-G

What’s your favorite way to prepare/cook with kale?

One thought on “Couch to 5K – Week 2 Repeat, Day 1

  1. Pingback: A New Beginning – Couch to 5K | The Greener Bean

Leave a Reply

