A New Beginning – Couch to 5K

Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening!

After some reflecting last night, I woke up this morning eager to get back on track with my workouts. It was really hard to drag myself out of my cozy bed and air conditioned apartment, but as always, once I hit the road I was very happy to be working out.

After my two week hiatus, this morning I decided to start anew with my Couch to 5K training. For those who don’t know, Couch to 5K is a training plan for brand new runners (like me!). Over a span of 9 weeks (3 work outs per week with rest days in between), you build up your running to walking ratio, to eventually be able to complete a 5K. Today’s workout looked like this:

           Couch to 5K, Week One, Day One

  • 5 min warm up
  • 60 seconds of jogging/90 seconds of walking (repeated 8 times)
  • 5 min cool down
This work out was just what I needed to ease me back into things… and man did I need some easing — because it is H-O-T in NYC today. I am pretty sure it was 80 degrees by 7am this morning… and I was drenched in sweat. Sweat running down my legs, down my boobs, and dripping into my eyes. Sexy, huh?  Seriously, Gillian — time to invest in a sweatband. I know nothing about sweatbands! Any suggestions?

Overall it felt great to work out and I am determined to stick with it this time! Maybe I need to sign up for a 5K in 9 weeks for some motivation? Hmmm…

Back at home,  I made myself some breakfast to sip on the steamy commute into the city:

Mocha Green Smoothie

 Into the Magic Bullet went: A frozen banana, a handful of spinach,  some cocoa powder, a packet of Starbucks Via Columbia Blend, a few drops of vanilla, a squirt of agave, some fat free vanilla chobani, almond milk and ice.

Isn’t that color purty? Reminds me of baby poop.  Good thing it was super delicious and I was too hot to care!

Here are some things I snacked on during the workday:

Morning snack: apple with PB for the dippin'

100% whole wheat bread topped with Sabra Sun-dried Tomato Hummus, fat free feta and spinach... along with a handful of pretzels for some crrrrunch

a much needed afternoon pick me up

Still working on that iced coffee (the patties were devoured within seconds after the photo was taken).

I am feeling kind of sluggish (dehydrated, perhaps?) but it’s time to get it together. Tonight one of our shows is opening and I need to go work/socialize/play at the opening party (one of the perks of working in the Theatre!). Mental note to drink lots of water and eat something so that tomorrow morning doesn’t end up like this one did :p

See you later! -Gillian

Have you trained with the Couch to 5K program? Any tips? Also — where do I find a good sweat band? 

3 thoughts on “A New Beginning – Couch to 5K

  1. Pingback: The Greener Bean

  2. Pingback: A Runner’s Right of Passage | The Greener Bean

  3. Pingback: Hotter Than Hades | The Greener Bean

Leave a Reply

