Jersey Fresh

Good morning… errr afternoon!

I had a few things to get done this morning, so although I was up bright and early at 8am, I wasn’t able to get out for my run until around 11. I was a bit hesitant with the heat and sun shining so brightly but I knew that if I didn’t get out there this morning, the run probably wouldn’t happen at all… so I hit the road!

On the schedule today was Day 2 of Week 1 of Couch to 5K. This run was identical to Thursday’s run. The heat actually wasn’t too bad and I tried to stay in the shade as much as possible, which helped. I have to be honest… today I was not overly happy to be running, I just sort of, got through it. I mean, now that it’s over, I’m happy I worked out, but the run itself was sort of blah.

One thing that helped? Music! I haven’t mentioned this before, but to aid me in my runs, I have been downloading Couch to 5K Playlists from Carli over at Running Into Shape. Not only does she put together an awesome track of music, but a great thing about these playlists is that she tells you when to walk and when to run (so that you don’t have to keep track of time on a stopwatch or phone). She has two versions for each week of training, one pop and one classic rock. I dowloaded both so I could add some variety to my workouts and  today I chose rock:

The Rock Playlist:

  •  Allman Brothers-Blue Sky (live)
  • The Cars-Bye bye love
  •  Thin Lizzy-Jailbreak
  • The Eagles-In the City
  • Boston-More than a Feeling — LOVE THIS ONE!
  •  U2-The Electirc Co. (live)
  • Marhall Tucker Band-Searchin for a Rainbow

I definitely recommend these playlists to anyone who is trying out the Couch to 5K plan. I know that there are a few Couch to 5K apps out there, but I can download these right to my iPod (I don’t like to run with my phone) and bonus: they are free (although she does take donations on her website)! Definitely worth checking out. Thank you Carli!

After my run I grabbed an Iced Coffee and some fresh blueberries and headed home for a big cereal bowl:

Kashi GoLean, Kashi GoLean Crunch!, Trading Company Granola with Almonds & Pecans, Bluberries and Almond Milk

These blueberries were the best I’ve had all summer. Plump and juicy. As Nana would say “It’s because they are from New Jersey!” To Nana, everything from Jersey is better. I think she’s on to something.

"Jersey Fresh... as Fresh as Fresh Gets"

Time to shower and get crackin… see you later!

For you: Are you more happy during your workout or does your satisfaction come once it’s out of the way?

One thought on “Jersey Fresh

Leave a Reply

