A Runner’s Right of Passage

This evening I left work with 3 goals in mind:

  1. RUN
  2. BUY FOOD
  3. BACHELORETTE
The catch? I finish work at 6pm and “The Bach” starts at 8pm.

Ready… set… go!
***

Last night I had some trouble sleeping, so when my alarm went off at 6:45am this morning, I opted to postpone my run to this evening in favor of getting an extra hour of sleep. It felt good to sleep in, but I wasn’t about to give up on my training plan!

I bounced out of work at 6 on the dot and after my commute and a quick costume change, made it out on the road by 6:50 to finish out Week One of Couch to 5K.

Hello freckly knee

Although I typically prefer to get my run out of the way first thing in the morning, I surprisingly enjoyed my post-work run tonight. It was nice to leave an environment where I am sitting at a desk for 8 hours straight, to go release some energy and breathe fresh air. I even brought my camera to snap some pics:

Rounding the bend

Oh Manhattan, you are pretty

Cool thing: As I was running, I felt something weird going on with my ankle. I stopped to check what was going on and discovered a blister forming on the back of my ankle (don’t worry, I’ll spare you the photos)!  Although it was really uncomfortable, it made me feel pretty hardcore. I ran right through it to complete my workout, which made me feel even more bad ass. A runners right of passage, if you will? I’m painfully proud 🙂

On way home I stopped by the local Pathmark to pick up groceries for the week, including some dinner for tonight. Although the lines were long and I was stuck behind a woman who spent close to 10 minutes arguing over the price of some fudgsicles (really lady?) I made it home by 8:06… just as my guilty pleasure, “the Bach” was starting.

My Guilty Pleasure

The Bachelor/Bachelorette is one of the only shows I watch these days. Although, I admit, the show is a disaster… it’s like a bad car accident, I can’t look away! So, might as well embrace it.

As I watched I threw together some dinner and while it cooked I got some crunches and pushups in. Lils wanted to join in the fun…

Maybe she won't kick me off if I cross my paws like this and look as cute as possible...

Dinner tonight was really easy and quick to put together, while staying healthy. Salmon massaged with olive oil and rosemary herb seasoning, baked at 375° for about 15 minutes, spinach sauteed with olive oil and garlic, and some Near East rice pilaf with lentils. 

Although I would love to say that I am always this energetic and focused, it was definitely that the commitment that I’ve made here on The Greener Bean that got me through everything I wanted to do this evening. I am so quick to make excuses as to why I can’t fit a workout in, or why it would be easier to pick up dinner on the way home… knowing that I wanted to come home and blog about it all gave me that extra push to get it right.

I hope to one day say that a night like tonight is the norm!

***

A quick note: Thank you to friends and family who have read The Greener Bean and have written to me with feedback! Your support and encouragement means a lot and I am really grateful.

***

Bachelor - JP

For you: What is your guilty pleasure TV show? Do you watch “The Bach?” Who are you rooting for? I like J.P 🙂

3 thoughts on “A Runner’s Right of Passage

  1. Pingback: How To Create Extra Hours For Your Workout | The Greener Bean

Leave a Reply

