How To Conjure Up Extra Hours For Your Workout

Today was just one of those days.

A rest day from my Couch to 5K training. Lots of errands to run and no time to make it to a yoga class. A desire to get a workout in, but not enough hours in the day to make it happen.

So, I decided to to create hours. Conjure up some extra time. Impossible you say? Nothing is impossible! My secret?

WALK EVERYWHERE.

Instead of hopping on the subway or taking cabs to the various places I had to be after work, I power walked around the city. Yes, it was hot and yes, there were a million tourists to weave in and out of… but it felt good to sweat it out and again, get some “outside time” after 8 hours of work!

When I got home, I used Map My Run to map out my route:

I was honest-to-god shocked when I saw that I covered a whopping 2.7 miles! Solely running errands. Sure, it’s not the same as getting out there for a run, or hitting up the gym but it’s something. Something in the place of what was nothing. Magic? Nah… just a healthy mindset!

On my walk, I snapped some pics:

NYC Public LIbrary -- SATC anyone?

Empire State of Mind

A slice of NY

Word of caution: If you decide to do some spur of the moment walking, make sure you have proper shoes with you! I made the decision at the end of the work day today and ended up having to walk in my $25 American Eagle flip flops, which are essentially condensed cardboard. Oweeeee!

These boots were NOT made for walkin'

Arriving home at 9pm, I was ravenous. I decided to use what was in the fridge to throw together a resourceful very fancy three course meal:

Course One: A quick salad using greens, leftover rice and lentils, and a sprinkle of low fat feta. At the last minute, I realized I had no dressing and was out of olive oil, so I threw a dollup of hummus on top as a substitute:

 

 

 

 

 

This salad was totally random and turned out DELICIOUS. I’m already craving another one!

Course Two: Trader Joe’s Meatless Meatballs simmered in leftover tomato sauce with wilted spinach:

This was also delicious but after two meatballs, I felt really full. The rest went into the fridge.

Course Three: My Magic Bullet “smoothified”: 3 frozen strawberries, half a frozen banana, chocolate silk and a handful of dark chocolate M&M’s.

This was the perfect way to end the day. NYC is hot hot hot this week… and I’ve been a smoothie-craving monster!

Time for bed! C25K Week 2, Day 1 to conquer tomorrow morning…

For you: How do you sneak a workout in when it seems like there are not enough hours in the day?

2 thoughts on “How To Conjure Up Extra Hours For Your Workout

  1. I think my secret to “sneaking” in a workout isn’t really sneaky at all….I love early mornings and am content to simply wake up earlier to fit in a workout. If you don’t like mornings, I suppose this idea wouldn’t work, but most of the time it does for me!

Leave a Reply

