Hotter Than Hades

NYC is hot.

“Hotter Than Hades,” as they say. Too hot for C25K running. Too hot for laying in the park with a book. Too hot for the beach. Too hot for beer gardening. Too hot for clothes. It is, in fact, hellish.

One thing it is not too hot for? Lounging in the AC, sipping’ iced coffee and blogging! Which gives me a good chance to finally pause for a moment and reflect upon my week.

Let’s catch up over coffee, shall we?

Earlier this week, before NYC became an oven, I got two of my C25K training runs in. This week completed Week 2 of C25K and tomorrow I will kick off my Saturday with Day One of Week 3. Hopefully it will cool down to the breezy low 90’s by then (who ever thought I’d be calling anything in the 90’s “cool” or “breezy?”) so running outside won’t feel like torture.

As I have mentioned before, over the past few years, I have started the Couch to 5K running plan a handful of times… only to make it just a few days in before getting bored or “too busy.” This time around I have a new sense of commitment, something to hold me accountable (The Greener Bean!) and I am very proud and slightly terrified to say that for the very first time, I have made it to Week 3! (Why slightly terrified, you ask? We’ll save that for a different post. Perhaps tomorrow!)

I also spent this week recovering from my two wedding weekend. Oh, and did I mention I had a new roommate move in on Sunday? And had two post-work shows to see this week? Lots of crazy. Lots of busy. All in all, I haven’t had much time for shopping, cooking or blogging. I did have lots of time for eating out though! Here are two of my prettier meals this week:

Kale Avocado Salad from Juice Generation. They don’t just serve juice! Enjoyed as lunch during work on Monday, I believe?

In my short stint as an awful amateur photographer, I think Kale has been one of the prettiest things to photograph.

It’s just so curly and veiny and green. Kale – you are photogenic!

Another meal that is exciting to take pictures of?

Sashimi!

Pretty and pink. A pre-theatre dinner at Kodama enjoyed with Kerry.

This was actually my first time ordering Sashimi. My mum and my boss eat it regularly, so I thought I’d give it a go! Although I missed the rice and the crunch of regular old sushi rolls, this sashimi was nice and simple, and melted right in my mouth. It also made me really appreciate flavors of soy sauce and wasabi, which sometimes get lost in full sushi roll.

Alrighty, I’m off to stand with my face in the freezer. Stay cool!

P.S. I’m not really going to stand with my face in the freezer. That’s a waste of electricity. I’m also not turning on my TV. NO BLACKOUTS 2011!

For you: Is it “Hotter Than Hades” where you live? How are you surviving the heat?

3 thoughts on “Hotter Than Hades

  1. Pingback: Restaurant Review: Moustache Pitza | The Greener Bean

  2. Pingback: Portuguese Kale Soup | The Greener Bean

  3. Hey there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

