Restaurant Review: Moustache Pitza

This past Thursday, a coworker and I bust out of the office and hopped on the downtown 1 train towards Christopher Street and the West Village.

The West Village is one of my all-time favorite neighborhoods in Manhattan. Historic brownstones line the streets, intermingled with a variety of trendy restaurants, bars and shops. There are also some really cool old theaters in the West Village: The Lucille Lortel, The Cherry Lane, and my destination that evening, The Barrow Street Theatre. (Confession: I may or may have not signed up to see this show, just because it would give me an excuse to visit the West Village. Shh!)

The West Village is also home to one of my all-time favorite restaurants: Moustache Pitza. Since I just happened to be seeing a show in the West Village, and the theatre just happened to be a few blocks away from Moustache, how could I not pop in for dinner? (Confession #2: Okay, so really? I may or may not have signed up to see this show just because it would give me an excuse to visit Moustache! The worst part is? I’m totally realizing this in retrospect. SHH!)

Moustache is a cozy Middle-Eastern restaurant located on a side street near Grove and Barrow. If you weren’t specifically seeking out Moustache, there is a good chance you would pass right by it. As the restaurant is so tiny, there is typically a pretty decent wait time to be seated; but this particular day the crowd was a bit lighter than usual and we were sitting about 15 minutes after our arrival. Thank god, because it was HOT out.

Once seated, we cooled off with some beers.

I went with a Lebanese beer, the Almaza Pilsener (pictured on the right), as recommended by our waiter. It was light, crisp, refreshing and just what I was craving.

We began with an appetizer of babaganough with whole wheat pita, which I totally forgot to photograph (new blogger in the house!). The babaganough was garnished with olives and tomatoes and was creamy and delicious. The pita arrived fresh out of the oven — when they bring it to your table it is all puffed up and you get to watch it deflate and cool on your plate. Wouldn’t a picture of that be awesome? Blogger fail.

Next up were two “pitzas” to share. The first is my favorite, The Lahambajin:

Ground lamb, onion, tomato, parsley and spices, all on top of a pita crust. The pita crust was light and cripsy and there was a perfect ratio of topping to pita. My favorite by far!

Our second was the The Sun:

Sundried tomato, fresh mozzarella and fresh basil, also atop a pita crust. As I’m not the biggest fan of sundried tomatoes (and they were loaded on there!) this one came in second for me. I couldn’t help snagging a few slices though — look at that all that gooey mozzarella!

Moustache Pitza is very reasonably priced for the neighborhood and the staff and service are mostly attentive. In addition to this, the vibe is intimate and trendy.

Underneath the chatter and bustle of the restaurant, there is authentic music playing, adding to the ambiance and charm. If you are coming off a long day of work, this delightful music may even lead to you to do a little dance in your seat because you are so happy to be there.Β Not that I would even do such a thing. No way.

Oh, and the show that I saw that night? It was okay.

For you: What is your favorite neighborhood in Manhattan? Best restaurant there?

Leave a Reply

