Just Because I Haven’t Been Blogging…

After a few days of writing about fluffy things like the Port Authority and the Real Housewives, it’s time to get back to the root of what this blog is about: my (sometimes sad) attempt at leading a healthy lifestyle!

Just because I haven’t been blogging for the past few months, does not mean I haven’t been running. Actually — quit the opposite! I sort of completed the Couch to 5k plan (due to timing, I had to condense the final two weeks) and last Saturday I ran my first 5k (recap coming!).

I was very proud to have reached my goal of running a 5k, but when Monday rolled around, I felt a little bit lost. With no Couch to 5k program to guide me, what kind of run should I do? I went out and ran a slow, unfocused two miles and was not satisfied. Luckily, after a little bit of research, I found a new training plan to commit to! It’s a bridge from 5k to 10k. Yay! for structure and Yay! for increasing my distance.

This morning I woke up nice and rested from my night in, and ready for a “long” run.

I put quotes around long because what feels like a long distance to me, I know is a warm up for most runners. But hey, it’s all about baby steps, and I am okay with that.

See the orange d-tag still attached to my sneaker? I can’t bring myself to cut it off! I’m still basking in the excitement of last week’s race.

The first day of my new training plan called for:

  • A five minute warm up walk
  • 10 minutes of running, 1 minute of walking (repeat four times)
  • A five minute cool down walk

After looking at the temps for today (supposed to average in the 50s!) I ventured out in shorts and a tank. When I first hit the road I got nervous and almost turned back home to grab a jacket, but once I got going I warmed up pretty quickly.

It was a gorgeous morning. If the weather is anything like this tomorrow morning, those NYC marathoners are in for a treat! My run felt awesome. I had to stop and walk a few times during the 10 minute stretches, but never for more than a few seconds.

Here’s what my run looked like:

Ignore the cheesy smileys and ignore the pace and look at that distance! 4.76 miles. The longest distance work out I’ve done to date. I felt strong and prepared and just happy to be outside on such a pretty morning.

Due to the increase in distance — I was forced to explore some new streets and paths. My run is getting to be too long for my usual route! That’s a good thing:

Who said New Jersey wasn’t pretty?

By the time I made it home, I was starved and looking forward to a special treat. Remember those apples from last night?

What? Apple Crisp is not a proper breakfast? Come on, it’s mostly oats and apples… it’s practically like eating oatmeal which is, like, the breakfast of champions!

Don’t worry, my breakfast wasn’t a total failure. I had a yogurt on the side, along with some Dunkins Pumpkin Coffee + milk and a big glass of water.

They were giving out these “La Yogurts” after my race last week and I sampled the Pina Colada. I usually go for greek yogurt, but this stuff was really good! So, when I saw them on sale at the store this week, I picked a few up. The pina colada flavor definitely wins out in taste over the banana cream. Still good, though!

Okay — time to get cracking. I’m so excited for the NYC Marathon tomorrow. Will you be watching? I personally know two people running, a coworker and a friend from college. I will also be looking out for some of my favorite bloggers: Dooce and Tina.

Oh, and I may be tracking Apolo Ohno, just ’cause.

Have a great day!

3 thoughts on “Just Because I Haven’t Been Blogging…

  1. Pingback: NYC Marathon: Greetings from Mile 19 | The Greener Bean

  2. Pingback: The Most Gorgeous Toilet I Have Ever Experienced | The Greener Bean

  3. Pingback: The Best Apple Crisp Recipe EVER | The Greener Bean

Leave a Reply

