NYC Marathon: Greetings from Mile 19

And just like, the delicious weekend is over.

And just like that, the countdown to next weekend begins.

Did you remember to “fall back” this weekend? I loved that extra hour of sleep on Sunday morning. I did not love working through the sunset today:

Okay, so seasonal depression may be a bit of an exaggeration, but I will really miss the extra hours of sunlight. Too soon to start the countdown to spring?

***

This weekend was a little bit of everything. I had a relaxing Friday night at home, an amazing “long” run on Saturday, and Sunday was all about the marathon.

The weather on marathon day was gorgeous; it was too warm for coats, but was still chilly enough to like fall. As a spectator, it was perfect, although I kept thinking that if I was running, I’d probably want it to be about 10 degrees cooler.

Friends and I were stationed a block north of the Mile 19 mark, in Spanish Harlem. While streets get really crowded a bit further downtown, by the time you get up to Harlem they have thinned out quite a bit, so you aren’t fighting like a crazy person for a spot to stand.

Early on, I got to catch the elite group of women run by. First Mary Keitany:

And then the rest of the lead pack (including female winner Firehiwot Dido), trailing her by about 2 minutes:

You guys, were you watching on TV? It was crazy when first Firehiwot (what a fierce name!) and then the Buzunesh Deba (#2) eventually passed Mary. It made for quite the exciting last few miles. I have to admit, was feeling sort of bad for Mary when it all went down — I just wanted her to keep that pace and beat the world record! It would have been so awesome! I’m mostly over it.

Throughout the rest of the day, I alternated between my street view on 1st Ave:

and an apartment party on 2nd (Cider + Rum? Yes, please).

Sadly, the tracking app I had downloaded wasn’t working properly so I ended up missing almost all of the people I was looking out for. It was really frustrating (grr I want my $2.99 back!). I did get to see my friend Meghan and her fiance Tristan run by though, it all happened so fast, I didn’t get the change to snap a pic. They both looked great!

Overall the day was fun and inspirational and by around 4pm, I felt like I had run the marathon. I was exhausted! I’m sure future “marathon-runner Gillian” will really appreciate that one.

Today at work, my marathon high got a second wind, and I actually started telling people that I would be running the marathon in 2013. Almost everyone responded “why not 2012?”

That being said, time for bed so I can be up nice and early for my second Bridge to 10K run! Hopefully it goes as well as the first.

Sweet marathon-filled dreams!

8 thoughts on “NYC Marathon: Greetings from Mile 19

  1. I hate losing my hours, but that’s probably because I don’t have to be at work until 9 and don’t get off until 6: so starting today, I don’t get to go home until it is pitch black outside.

    Sad face.

    I’d rather have my sun in the afternoon than the morning. And I hate S.A.D. – its so depressing! (budunchhhh). Seriously, though, a sun lamp can be a life saver for the worst winter days.

    • Dorothy, I am the same — I work from 10-6 and I’d much rather be up and doing my morning run in the dark and then leaving work with some sunshine. Sadly, that is not the reality.

  2. Enjoyed your post! 🙂 I’ve run a half marathon that probably deserves a blog post….hmmm, will have to add that one to my list. Training + trying to help out a client + client decides not to participate + stop training + support friends who are going to run + get talked into running half marathon the night before the race (without proper clothes or running shoes and have to go out and buy stuff before stores close for the night) = Crazy-ness!! Point to drive into potential marathoner’s head….train, train, and train some more! 🙂 Do not follow my lead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

