Songs to Work Out To

Time for a night in to recover from the CRAY CRAY that was yesterday.

I originally planned on getting my yoga on tonight, but when I checked the schedule this afternoon, there wasn’t a class at my level around the time I got out of work.

Womp womp.

I’m sad that I won’t get to stretch it out, but happy to be all tucked in at home by 8pm. It’s a rarity these days!

***

Tonight I thought I’d share with you a song a song I am currently LOVING to run to:

“Shake it Out” by Florence and the Machine

I added this song to my playlist when the single came out a few weeks ago and quickly became obsessed.  I love how it starts out slow and dreamy and picks up gradually, with drumbeats driving the tempo.

I also love that it never gets going crazy fast; it keeps me at a really good, even pace.

 The lyrics: “shake it out, shake it out” and “it’s hard to dance with a devil on your back, so shake him off” are motivational. As I run to these words, I literally feel myself shaking off the stresses of life and leaving them behind. It puts me in a refreshed and positive mindset to tackle the day ahead.

I actually used this song as the first song on the running playlist I created for my recent 5K, and as I crossed the starting line with hundreds of runners, I almost felt like I was in my own little world and that this song was on the soundtrack of my life movie.

Yeah, yeah I know, totally cheesy.

But for real, I could see this song being used in some sort of athletic commercial. Olympics 2012?

Another Florence in the Machine song I love to run to?

But I’m sure you’ve heard that one before.

And — just for fun:

I hope this post inspired you to spice up your work out playlist a bit!

More songs to come… I plan on making this a regular thing. I love to discover new music and when it’s a song that I can work out to – it’s a bonus!

Tell me: What is your current favorite song to work out to? Ideally, I would love for these posts to turn into a forum for sharing new music… so please, share away!

4 thoughts on “Songs to Work Out To

  1. I like Pink to work out to. And John Hiatt’s Slow Turning puts me at a pretty good pace to jog/run.
    I haven’t heard the new Florence and the Machine, I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

