The Hard Thing About Running

Today I ran. It was hard. It was not fun.

Same as yesterday, I had trouble waking up.

Despite my exhaustion, I forced myself out of bed and was on the road by 7am for Day 1 of Week 2 of Bridge to 10K.

Here’s what I had in store for me this morning:

There are two ways one could look at this workout:

#1. “Oh — this is a piece of cake. I’m only adding 5 minutes on to each of the 10 minute runs from last week. Easy, peasy!” 

This is how I felt at the beginning of my run.

or

#2. “Wow — I am adding 15 whole minutes on top of the total 30 minutes I worked up to last week. That’s a lot. Sounds hard. I don’t think I can do it. :(“

This is how I felt towards the end of my run.

My first 15 minute stretch was fine. I was a bit tight and tired, but I made it through without having to stop and walk.

During the second 15 minute stretch, I started to get really bad cramps in my lower abs and under my ribs.

It was painful.

Needless to say, I spent a lot of the second two stretches walking.

Then, towards the end of the run I think I just kind of gave up. It was just not my day.

I felt sad. I wanted to be happily running. Increasing my pace! Covering more distance! Building my confidence! I do have a 5 mile race to run in two weeks.

That is not what happened.

I know you are wondering so, here are my stats:

Not great. My pace was terrible and although I was ran 15 minutes longer than last week, I covered about the same distance.

Fail.

What I’m learning is: this is the hard thing about running.

You can have so many great days in a row (aka me, every day since my 5K) and then one day you get out there and BAM — it’s like you’ve never run a day in your life. Like you’re starting from scratch.

So, the question is: why do we do this? Why do we continue to torture ourselves with all this running business if it can be so disappointing and unpredictable?

I can’t answer that for you today. Maybe this post can. Or this one.

But for today, I am very much looking forward to my rest day tomorrow.

And some guacamole.

Tell me: How do you get over the disappointment of an “off” day?

3 thoughts on “The Hard Thing About Running

  1. I, truthfully, don’t have a way to get over a disappointing off day. At least, I haven’t figured out how to yet. I had one last week. It was time to start week five (Couch to 5k). Warm up was good. First run set….crap-o-la. My insides protested so loudly, I had to stop running. My breathing was fine so I couldn’t figure out where the pain was coming from or how to make it stop. It wasn’t your typical side burner, that’s somewhat easier to overcome because it has to do with your breathing (ie…you aren’t breathing in and out consistently which causes your diaphragm to cramp). This was a horrible pain. So I stopped running, and hitched the incline up to 8 so I could at least get in a workout. I haven’t wanted to try running since (well, and then I got sick so I haven’t felt like trying). Let me know if you figure it out, though. I know it’s probably, just get back out there and try again. PS…I wrote my story about my Half Marathon. I am so not a runner (and yet trying again…with Couch to 5k). 🙂 http://taylornorris.blogspot.com/2011/11/i-once-ran-half-marathon.html

  2. Pingback: Bridge to 10K, Week 2, Day 2: Something To Focus On | The Greener Bean

Leave a Reply

