The Best Apple Crisp Recipe EVER

What’s your favorite season?

For me, that’s an easy one: FALL, FALL, FALL!

I spend the entire summer looking forward to it, and the entire winter missing it.

There are so many things to love about the fall:

1. That fresh start, back-to-school feeling. No, I’m not in school at the moment and yes, I did work full-time through the summer. Okay… so maybe this one doesn’t apply so much these days.

2. That crisp chill in the air = sweater season! But this year it’s been so warm! Remember when I wore shorts to the Radio City Christmas Show? Not very fall-like. Oh, except for that weekend when it snowed. That’s not very fall-like either. Hmm.

3. Apple picking! I live in a city. Unfortunately, I just didn’t find the time to make it to an orchard this year.

Okay, so maybe my fall has been a bit “off” so far.

Fortunately, I do live near a supermarket where I was able to purchase apples that some nice people on some distant New Jersey farm picked for me. Thanks guys!

Which leads me to a fall tradition that I have been able to partake in this year: BAKING. 

Remember a few weeks ago when I indulged in apple crisp for breakfast?

Well, today I would like to share with you: The Best Apple Crisp Recipe EVER.

To me, this apple crisp tastes like a “bite of fall.” My mum has been making this recipe for as far back as I can remember, and when I moved away from home, it’s one tradition that I had to keep. It’s not a proper fall without apple crisp!

It is simple. It is delicious. And since it is mostly apples and oats — you can pretend it’s healthy!

So, are you ready? For this jelly?

The Best Apple Crisp Recipe EVER

What you’ll need:

  • Apples (depending on size, 8-10) – we like to use Macs
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 1 t nutmeg (optional)
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 2/3 cup water

1. Preheat over to 375° F.

2. Peel, core and slice enough apples to fill an 9 x 13 pan, generously.

Ideally, your pan should have a lot more apples than my example above does. It should be overflowing with apples! (Sadly, I ran a bit short.)

3. Sprinkle the apples with water (about 2/3 cup give or take) until the bottom of the pan is coated with a very thin layer of water.

4. In a large mixing bowl combine: oats, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Next,   add enough canola oil (about 1 cup, give or take, based on preference) to moisten the mix. I like to use as little oil as possible so the topping gets nice and crispy!

5. Cover the apples with the oats mixture and bake for about 1 hour or until the apples are fully cooked (a fork should easily stick right through them) and the topping is toasted.

6. Let cool and enjoy!

Add a dollop of vanilla ice cream and this apple crisp is the perfect treat to curl up with after a full, chilly day of apple picking and hay rides.

Or, if you are adventurous, you can go with my method; dessert for breakfast!

Just make sure to have something healthy(er!) on the side.

What is your favorite thing about fall!?

5 thoughts on “The Best Apple Crisp Recipe EVER

  1. Mmmmm…I love a good apple crisp. I made some last month but after reading this, I might have to bring some to Thanksgiving dinner next week. Or follow your lead and make some for breakfast…

Leave a Reply

