Feaster Five Eve

Today was all about travel.

I squeezed in a few hours at the office this morning and then scooted home to meet these two lovely ladies at my apartment:

Colette (cousin) and Erin (sister)

Erin drove all the way down from New Hampshire this morning, just to pick us city gals up for the holiday. Isn’t she a champ?

As Erin had done her fair share of driving this morning, I took over for the NYC to NH return trip. Along the way, we made one stop to refill gas and get our caffeine fix:

Looking a bit haggard at this point. That drive is a doozy!

Traffic was pretty light, and the trip took us just under 5 hours. Amaze.

***

Look what was waiting for me when I got home:

My bib for tomorrow’s race! Thanks, Dad ๐Ÿ™‚

For as far back as I can remember, it has been a Campbell Family tradition to gather together on Thanksgiving Morning to run the Feaster Five Race.

In the past, I have walked the 5K, mostly just in order to participate. Usually with children, older people and puppies. My family, they are the hard core ones. Me? Not so much.

This is the first year I am taking The Feaster Five seriously. I’m even taking it up a notch by running the 5 mile!

Speaking of… I have a lot to do before tomorrow. I need to lay out my running gear, fine tune my playlist… and get at least a few hours of sleep.

***

As I’ve stated in previous posts, I am a bit nervous about running the 5 mile. There are a few things I need to remind myself of at the start line tomorrow:

1. I am prepared for this! I have been running 3 days a week for the past few months and have completed 5 mile runs a few times now. Really, this should be a piece of cake!

2. I shouldn’t beat myself up if I need to walk. I am allowed. It will be okay. It does not make me a failure.

3. Less than one month ago, I completed my first 5K! One day I will look back at this puny 5 mile race and scoff.

4. The finish line is the best part!ย Just get there. They have food. And there is even more food at home. And pie.

Wish me luck! Fingers crossed, next time we chat, I will be a Five Miler!

4 thoughts on “Feaster Five Eve

    • Hi Cyndi, thanks for reading! Oooo, I wish I had seen Yutaka and Cecily this morning! I hope you guys had a nice Thanksgiving — and I hope to see you guys later this week for some sushi! xo

Leave a Reply

