Reflections on NaBloPoMo

One month ago, I made the commitment to blog every day for the month of November.

NABLOPOMO. I had no idea what I was getting into.

Welp, today happens to be November 30th and I am proud to say, I DID IT! Although there were some bumps along the road, I managed to stick to it and post every day for the 30 days in November. For an entire month. Woot woot!

When I signed up, I predicted that for a lot of days, I would be too busy or distracted to really post, and would settle with posting just a photo or a maybe a quote.

Instead, as the month went flew by, I found myself planning my posts out in my head in advance. I found myself taking lots of pictures that I could incorporate into posts.  I found myself getting into a routine and looking forward to posting. I found myself enjoying it.

Unfortunately, my lifestyle does not allow for lots of free time for blogging. I work 8 hours a day. Which, for a lot of days, actually turns out to be 10 or 11 hours a day. I sometimes work weekends. I have to see a lot of theatre for my job, so my evenings get eaten up pretty quickly.

When it comes down to it, including my commute, I spend about 10-12 hours a day focused on work. When you factor in 8 hours of sleep, this leaves me 4-6 hours of free time per day. To exercise. To relax. To shower. To cook. To eat. To clean. To play with my kitten. To read. To watch a show.

Or, for the past month? TO BLOG. 

Over the past month, I typically found myself squeezing in posts right at the end of the day (as I am now!), before bed. This was the only time I could find to cram these puppies in. Needless to say, NaBloPoMo threw my typical routine out of whack, and I found myself putting blogging above some basic tasks.

Things I did not get to because I “needed” to post:

  • Laundry
  • Dishes
  • Cleaning in general
  • I never got to sleep before midnight (goodbye 8 hours)
  • I haven’t started my December book club book (whoops!)
  • Sometimes, I found myself putting blogging time over time with actual humans

On the other, brighter side of things, I really enjoyed myself! I loved being committed to posting every day. I am a person who likes structure and follows through with promises! Along with this, it was nice to have an outlet to share bits of my life with people. Here are some of the things that I DID do, because I was committed to posting every day:

  • Made the transition from 5K to 5 mile
  • Made new friends
  • Reflected upon life in a deeper, more focused way
  • Felt a sense of accomplishment
  • Had lots of fun
  • Got closer to finding my blogging “voice”
  • Improved my posting time

So overall? NaBloPoMo was a lot of fun and I’m very glad I signed up, BUT I am relieved that I can go back to a more balanced lifestyle. If I work all day and then go see a show, I don’t have to force myself to stay up and post something at 11pm. It’s just not worth it.

That being said, I do hope that I stick with it and at least post more frequently than I was back BEFORE NaBloPoMo. It’s all about balance and hopefully I can find a good routine that works for me. 

Signing off from NaBloPoMo… but, really, let’s be real. I’ll be back tomorrow 🙂

That being said. It’s your turn! For those who followed all month long — I would love some feedback! What posts did you love? Which did you find boring? Will you miss my daily posts? Do you even care?

4 thoughts on “Reflections on NaBloPoMo

  1. Of course I care! I’m glad you did it and I hope you had fun with it. I enjoyed getting to know you better and hearing about your accomplishments. I think it would be fun if you blogged more about your job and the shows you see. Those of us living in the sticks would love to hear and see more about life in NYC!

  2. I agree with Carole! And I loved reading your blog every day, I looked forward to it and was always a little nervous as midnight was looming. I would refresh and refresh until finally! Your post was up. I’m going to try to continue to blog with some regularity, I just haven’t decided if it will be certain days or how I’ll work that. I think you are creative and have a really conversational style of writing which is easy to read.

    I would say all of this even if I wasn’t your mum! xo

  3. I enjoyed reading your posts! I’m glad I found your blog via NaBloPoMo. And as Carole said, it’s fun to read about other’s experiences in the big city when you live in the sticks! 😉 We get to live vicariously through your adventures. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Friday Night in NYC | The Greener Bean

Leave a Reply

