It’s Been A While

There is no easy way to begin this post. I guess I should just say — it’s been a while!

It has been almost an entire year since my last blog post (!!!) If I had any regular readers, I am sure they would be asking: “Gillian, what have you been up to and why are you back now?” Well, phantom readers, let me fill you in:

unnamed-1

NEW JOB. Back in January I started a new job at a major non-profit institution in NYC. It was a bit insane going through another job transition so soon (I had only been in my previous job for a year). Needless to say, I have been a bit off the radar. I am very lucky for the opportunity, and am loving the new gig, so it is all worth it πŸ™‚

NEW RING. On December 6, 2014 D dropped down on one knee next to the Christmas tree and proposed! We are having fun being engaged and are planning The Party of the Century (what D calls it) or The Wedding (what I call it) for next May.

NEW BROTHER (IN LAW). My sister Meg and her fiancΓ© Ben are getting married NEXT month, so there has been lots of planning and celebrating as we get ready to travel up to Jay Peak, VT for a summer ski town wedding in the mountains. I can’t wait!

…and probably so many other things that that I am not thinking of at the moment. Lots of life.

So, THE BIG QUESTION. Why am I resurfacing now?

Honestly, I think that what it boils down to is that I am attempting to find some BALANCE.Β I recently read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. It had been on my list for a while and I swear, just reading the book made me significantly happier! In the book, Gretchen stresses the importance of making time to incorporate regular activities into your life that bring you joy, and using the activities that you enjoyed as a child as inspiration.

This bit of advice made me think of a few major things that have brought me joy over the years, but that I don’t always pay attention to on a day to day basis, including the following:

  • My love of reading.
  • My passion for healthy foods and healthy eating.
  • The joy that sharing bits and pieces of my life and things I love on this blog has brought me.
  • My attempt at using this blog as a way to hold myself accountable to an exercise routine (and my love for running in the mornings!)

So, here I am. Not sure how often I will be here, but at least this first post is a start. Thank you readers and friends for sticking around and being part of my sporadic, but genuine, blogging journey. x

unnamed

4 thoughts on “It’s Been A While

  1. Of course I know all that major stuff and I’m thrilled for you and Meg on all counts. It’s nice to read more about what’s going on in your head, too. In other words, I’m glad you’re back.

Leave a Reply

